Prehistory and European colonization History of Falls Church






northern virginia, before europeans explored it, firmly governed iroquois confederacy—a consortium of native american nations , peoples including tauxenents, patawomekes, , matchotics. local inhabitants considered little falls of potomac river highly significant—it first cataract , or barrier, navigation on river.


the word potomac native american gathering place . reflected fact river served both highway , location trading.


captain john smith of england first european explore potomac far little falls. when arrived there noted deer, buffaloes, bears , turkeys, woods swarm them , soil extremely fertile.


the colony of virginia grew out of these explorations, , english settlers may have established @ site of modern-day falls church 1699. cottage demolished between 1908 , 1914, 2 blocks city center, bore stone engraved date 1699 set 1 of 2 large chimneys. no colonial-era land grants or land records have been unearthed reflecting upon first home, , origin remains uncertain.


indian trails meandered past site of 1699 cabin—an east-west 1 following route of modern broad street, , 1 branching off little falls of potomac—today s little falls street. 1730s these trails became important transportation routes.


in 1734 falls church—as came known—was founded @ present site adjacent intersection of important indian trails. @ time churches outposts of government worship. not church of england—the official church of colony—wishing make inroads in vast wilderness of northern virginia, colony s leaders wished establish beachhead of civilization well.


two acres purchased john trammell, local landowner, , carpenter named richard blackburn built wooden church. stood until 1769, when present brick church designed , built architect james wren. george washington, future president, kept bricklayer @ home in mount vernon. washington, along george mason—the future author of bill of rights u.s. constitution—was church vestryman.


originally called crossroads near michael reagan s , site of church first appears on map dated 1747, , labeled upper church . called church @ falls , , eventually, falls church.


the church on route of british colonial troops en route forks of ohio river on april 7, 1755. part of major general edward braddock’s british army engaged in fighting french during french , indian war. modern-day broad street locally called braddock’s road decades afterward.








Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Discography Kassav'

History New York State Route 133

History Women in science